Mosquitoes – a wonder of evolution …

… and a damn pest. I was thinking that we had a particularly large number of them this year, but I think its just that I am out in the garden in early evening when they descend in hordes, and have been moving slabs or other things that leave me open to attack. We had a barbie yesterday and it seemed to have been like a beacon for them since there were swarms.

They are impressive though. They are absolutely tiny, and still manage to fly, sense sweat/CO2/whatever from some distance and navigate, and wield a hypodermic. An amazing piece of evolution when you think about it, though I still swat every one I see.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

