Miele – simply good engineering

About 12 years ago, when our last washing machine expired, we decided to buy a Miele washer with an aim to get a high quality machine that would last.  It cost us about £700, and wasn’t the top of the range one even then … so far from cheap.  Recently we have noticed a small water leak, and given age and heavy usage we thought it might be a door seal or similar.  So, I just opened the lid to look.

Two things impressed me.  First, the issue wasn’t a leaking seal, it was the pipe from the filler drawer to the drum that had worked loose – so no spares were required.  After over a decade of use, not one rubber pipe has perished or anything worn in any visible way (crossing my fingers here a bit!).  Second, and most impressively, the machine seems designed for servicing.  Others I have had to fix have had almost inaccessible parts, and required tortuous manipulations.  On the Miele, two screws and three bolts removed (all easy to find) allows the front to swing open, at which point everything is clearly laid out and easy to read.  It took 3 minutes to put the relevant pipe back on and re-tighten it.  Admittedly, I wouldn’t expect everyone to be able to suss this out, but even if you got an expensive Miele engineer around, the job would not take them long.  You wouldn’t even have to pull the machine out from where it was sitting.  I should also note that this was so clean and easy that it foxed me for 30 minutes – I simply couldn’t believe that the front would simply swing open!

So, after more than a decade of use, we are very firmly in the advocate camp.  They are very expensive … but there is a huge pay-off in a machine that just works and works and works.  And, as an engineer, when you do finally have to look inside it is a simple pleasure that it is done right, not lashed up to hit a price point.

You can read a bit more on Miele washers here.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Miele – simply good engineering

  1. Sue maxen says:

    Very similar experience here. Only problem ever was damaging a door seal (and this was entirely my fault as something got shut in the door). Even tho I did get the engineer in it was very quick and not expensive to fix. I think I mainly called him as he would have instant access to the right part :-). Ours is a mere 9 yrs old tho. When the John Lewis guys delivered it they told me the ones they replace are usually 20 or 30 yrs old ( and they still look the same!)

  2. blogit4me says:

    I totally agree with you, I am a washing machine engineer and I hardly ever get called to repair Mielle washing machines and I put this down to 2 main reasons, 1. the warranty they give is excellent and Mielle owners do not feel the need to call out independent engineers like myself and 2. They hardly ever break down, and when they do the owner of the machine are so impressed with the machine that they just stick with the Mielle engineers for peace of mind and its the same for their electric oven repairs but I do get called to a Mielle repair, it is a pleasure to go as they are very easy to work on and as you said, you normally do not even need to take the machine out from where it stands as the fronts swing open giving loads of room to complete most repairs, my question is, why have other manufacturers not followed Mielle’s lead?.

Leave a Reply

